A Celebration of Courage 2013


Thank you for joining us at A Celebration of Courage 2013 where we honored Dr. Binnaz Toprak, Yasemin Öz, and Dorothy Sander for their significant, lasting, and heroic contributions to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender movement worldwide.

Press Coverage

This year's Celebration was covered by several Turkish news outlets including Hürriyet and the Star Gazete which we've translated in to English. The Huffington Post also ran an exclusive Q&A with Cynthia Nixon.

View a collection of press ».



View all phtos on Picasa »

Dr. Binnaz Toprak (left), Yasemin Öz (middle) and Dorothy Sander (right) joined by IGLHRC Board Co-Chairs Todd Larson and Amie Bishop. Photo by Donna F. Aceto

Maulik Pancholy, Honorary Chair of A Celebration of Courage 2013 with LeRoy Potts. Photo by Donna F. Aceto.

Cynthia Nixon, host, with Hossein Alizadeh and Felipa de Souza Honoree Yasemin Öz. Photo by Shreen Asem.

Dorothy Sander, Special Recognition Honoree with Todd Larson, IGLHRC Board Co-Chair. Photo by Shreen Asem.

Michael Sbabo and John Myung, Sponsors of A Celebration of Courage with Jessica Stern, Executive Director, and Amie Bishop and Todd Larson, IGLHRC Board Co-Chairs.

View all photos on Picasa »

A very special thank you to our sponsors


Tony Lakavage and James Sands


Paul F. Albert
Jeffrey O’Malley and Patrick Sewell


Mark Black and Glen Leiner
Michael Conway
Mark F. Darrel and John Broderick-Kartye
Meryl C. Friedman and Mary V. Wheatley
Charles D. Hewett and Charles G. Olbricht
M. Elaine Johnston
Tim Lane
Tom Watson and Jay Laudato


Tod Hill and Peter McAweeney
John Myung and Michael Sbabo
David Noble and Douglas Choo


Patricia Ackerman
Jerome Bernard
Amie Bishop and Renee Holt
Linda Blackmore
Barbara Glassman
Steven W. Guy
LeRoy Potts
Vivek Rai
Joel Sanders
Tey Meadow
Toby Usnik and Harlan Bratcher
Matthew A. Wieland
Doug Wingo and Tim Legg